Precursor: 4th Hollywood Critics Awards (2020)

Promising Young Woman and Birds of Prey did incredibly well showing that the HCA might well be the most feminist organization outside of the actual female-only organizations.

Awards Tallies

(4) Promising Young Woman
(3) Birds of Prey
(2) Da 5 Bloods, The Invisible Man, Minari, Nomadland, Sound of Metal

The Awards

Best Picture

Promising Young Woman

Best Animated Film


Best Male Director

Darius Marder – Sound of Metal

Best Female Director

Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Best Actor

Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods

Best Actress

Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor

Paul Raci – Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actress

Youn Yuh-jung – Minari

Best Original Screenplay

Promising Young Woman

Best Adapted Screenplay

One Night in Miami

Best Score


Best Original Song

“Husavik” – Eurovision Song Contest

Best Film Editing

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Cinematography


Best Production Design


Best Costume Design

The Personal History of David Copperfield

Best Hair & Makeup

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Visual Effects

The Invisible Man

Best International Film

La Llorona

Best Documentary

All In: The Fight for Democracy
Class Action Park

Best Short Film

The Heart Still Hums

Best Blockbuster

Birds of Prey

Best Indie Film


Best First Feature

Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Best Comedy/Musical

Palm Springs

Best Action

Birds of Prey

Best Horror

The Invisible Man

Best Cast Ensemble

Da 5 Bloods

Best Stunts

Birds of Prey

Best Animated or VFX Performance

Ben Schwartz – Sonic the Hedgehog

Honorary Awards

Breakthrough Performance Actor: Paul Raci
Breakthrough Performance Actress: Cristin Milioti
Acting Achievement: Aubrey Plaza
Filmmaking Achievement: Steve McQueen
Artisan Achievement: Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
Star on the Rise: Jo Ellen Pellman
Filmmaker on the Rise: Emerald Fennell
Artisan on the Rise: Emile Mosseri
Standout Performance by an Actor or Actress 23 o3 Under: Sidney Flanigan
Game-Changer Award: Nicole Beharie
Inspire Award – Lin-Manuel Miranda
Timeless Award: Dante Spinotti
Spotlight Award: Kiera Allen
Impact Award: Judas and the Black Messiah
Valiant Award: Zack Snyder
Trailblazer Award: Dwayne Johnson

Hollywood Critics Association (formerly Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society) Data

Year Founded: 2017
First Awards: 2017 (4)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.