87th Academy Awards (2014): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Pre-Show Details | Governor Awards | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Thursday, January 15, 2015
Nominations Presenters (Group 1): Alfonso Cuaron, J.J. Abrams (NOTE: First year the Academy announced all category nominations at their morning announcements.)
Nominations Presenter (Group 2): Chris Pine, Cheryl Boone-Isaacs
Category Announcement Order:

  • GROUP 1: Original Song, Visual Effects, Documentary Short Subject, Documentary Feature, Film Editing, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, Production Design, Live-Action Short Film, Animated Short Film, Animated Feature
  • GROUP 2: Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress, Makeup & Hairstyling, Costume Design, Cinematography, Adapted Screenplay, Original Screenplay, Original Score, Foreign Language Film, Director, Actress, Actor, Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Sunday, February 22, 2015, 5:30pm
Location: Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center
Televised On: ABC
Host: Neil Patrick Harris
Length: 3 hours, 43 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 20.60 rating
Viewers: 37.26 million


Opening Number: Neil Patrick Harris, Anna Kendrick, Jack Black
Supporting Actor: Lupita Nyong’o
Best Picture Introduction: The Grand Budapest Hotel, American Sniper: Liam Neeson
Original Song Introduction: “Lost Stars”: Dakota Johnson
Costume Design: Jennifer Lopez, Chris Pine
Makeup & Hairstyling: Reese Witherspoon
Introduction: Team Oscar contest winners: Channing Tatum
Foreign Language Film: Chiwetel Ejiofor, Nicole Kidman
Best Picture Introduction: Boyhood, The Theory of Everything, Birdman: Shirley MacLaine
Original Song Introduction: “Everything Is Awesome”: Marion Cotillard
Live Action Short Film: Kerry Washington, Jason Bateman
Documentary Short Subject: Kerry Washington, Jason Bateman
Governors Awards: Viola Davis (NOTE: Recognizing Jean-Claude Carriere, Hayao Miyazaki, Maureen O’Hara; Harry Belafonte – Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award)
Original Song Introduction: “I’m Not Gonna Miss You”: Gwyneth Paltrow
Scientific & Technical Awards; and Gordon E. Sawyer Award: David W. Gray: Miles Teller, Margot Robbie
Sound Mixing: Sienna Miller, Chris Evans
Sound Editing: Sienna Miller, Chris Evans
Supporting Actress: Jared Leto
Original Song Introduction: “Grateful”: Josh Hutcherson
Visual Effects: Ansel Elgort, Chloe Grace Moretz
Animated Short Film: Kevin Hart, Anna Kendrick
Animated Feature: Zoe Saldana, Dwayne Johnson
Production Design: Chris Pratt, Felicity Jones
Cinematography: Idris Elba, Jessica Chastain
In Memoriam: Meryl Streep
Film Editing: Naomi Watts, Benedict Cumberbatch
Best Picture Introduction: Whiplash, The Imitation Game, Selma: Terrence Howard
Documentary Feature: Jennifer Aniston, David Oyelowo
Original Song Introduction: “Glory”: Octavia Spencer
Original Song: Idina Menzel, John Travolta
Introduction: The Sound of Music tribute: Scarlett Johansson
Music: Original Score: Julie Andrews
Writing: Original Screenplay: Eddie Murphy
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Oprah Winfrey
Directing: Ben Affleck
Actor: Cate Blanchett
Actress: Matthew McConaughey
Picture: Sean Penn

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Matthew McConaughey: Yes
Actress – Cate Blanchett: Yes
Supporting Actor – Jared Leto: Yes
Supporting Actress – Lupita Nyong’o: Yes
Directing – Alfonso Cuaron: No

Song Performances

Everything Is Awesome: Tegan and Sara, The Lonely Island, Will Arnett, Questlove, Mark Mothersbaugh
Glory: Common, John Legend
Grateful: Rita Ora
I’m Not Gonna Miss You: Tim McGraw
Lost Stars: Maroon 5

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Everything Is Awesome: Partial (The Lonely Island only) (Performed in the Film by: Jo-Li, The Lonely Island)
Glory: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Common, John Legend)
Grateful: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Rita Ora)
I’m Not Gonna Miss You: No (Performed in the Film by: Glen Campbell)
Lost Stars: Partial (Adam Levine only, as part of Maroon 5) (Performed in the Film by: Keira Knightley, Adam Levine)

Other Performances

In Memoriam (I Can’t Let Go): Jennifer Hudson)
Opening Number: Moving Pictures: Neil Patrick Harris, Anna Kendrick, Jack Black
The Sound of Music, My Favorite Things, Edelweiss, Clim Ev’ry Mountain: Lady Gaga

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Cedering Fox
Conductor / Musical Arranger: Stephen Oremus
Director: Hamish Hamilton
Producer: Neil Meron, Craig Zadan
Writer: Greg Berlanti, Seth Grahame-Smith, Michael Green, Andrew Kreisberg
Writer (Special Material): Neil Patrick Harris, Dave Boone, Tim Carvell, Derek DelGaudio, Liz Feldman, Paul Greenberg, Paula Pell, Mason Steinberg
Production Design: Derek McLane
Costume Design: Julie Weiss
Choreography: Rob Ashford


Nominations: 8
Wins: 1
Special Class Programs: Nominee
Directing for a Variety Special: Nominee
Original Music and Lyrics: Nominee
Music Direction: Nominee
Lighting Design Lighting Direction for a Variety Special: Nominee
Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming: Nominee
Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special: Nominee
Technical Direction Camerawork Video Control for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Winner

Pre-Show Details

Pre-Show Date/Time: Sunday, February 22, 2015, 4:00pm
Pre-Show Presenter: Jess Cagle, Robin Roberts, Lara Spencer, Michael Strahan, Joe Zee

Governors Awards

Governors Awards Date: Saturday, November 8, 2014

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

“Imagine What’s Possible” Poster Series

It appears there were originally 15 poster designs, but by the versions on the Academy’s website, there were only 14 published. The full poster of all of them is above, but here are the fourteen individual poster designs.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.