Precursor: 6th New Mexico Critics Awards (2021)

With such a small number of members, New Mexico’s film critics are always idiosyncratic in their choices and I can’t imagine the vast majority of these carrying over to the Oscars.

Awards Tallies

(4) West Side Story
(2) Cry Macho, Licorice Pizza

The Awards

6th New Mexico Film Critics (2021)

(Awards: Dec. 12, 2021)

Best Picture

West Side Story (Runner-Up: Licorice Pizza)

Best Animated Film

Evangelion: 3.0+1.0 Thrice Upon a Time (Runner-Up: Belle)

Best Director

Steven Spielberg – West Side Story (Runner-Up: Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog)

Best Actor

Clint Eastwood – Cry Macho (Runner-Up: Alessandro Nivola – The Many Saints of Newark)

Best Actress

Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza (Runner-Up: Alyssa Chia – The Falls)

Best Supporting Actor

Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog (Runner-Up: Mike Faist – West Side Story)

Best Supporting Actress

Anya Taylor-Joy – Last Night in Soho (Runner-Up: Judy Greer – Halloween Kills)

Best Original Screenplay

Licorice Pizza (Runner-Up: The Falls)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Drive My Car (Runner-Up: West Side Story)

Best Music / Score

Dune (Runner-Up: Last Night in Soho)

Best Original Song

“Find a New Home” – Cry Macho (Runner-Up: “Down to Joy” – Belfast)

Best Editing

West Side Story (Runner-Up: Should the Wind Drop)

Best Cinematography

One Second (Runner-Up: The Power of the Dog)

Best Production Design

West Side Story (Runner-Up: Last Night in Soho)

Best Foreign-Language Film

The Falls (Runner-Up: Drive My Car)

Best Documentary

Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) (Runner-Up: The Rescue)

Best Ensemble

The Last Duel (Runner-Up: West Side Story)

Best Young Actor / Actress

Emilia Jones – CODA (Runner-Up: Cooper Hoffman – Licorice Pizza)

Glenn Strange Honorary Award

Richard Beymer
Jamie Lee Curtis
Vera Miles
Molly Ringwald
Richard Roundtree

U.S. Route 66 Award

Summer of 85

New Mexico Film Critics Data

First Awards: 2016 (5)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.