Precursor: 4th Critics Choice Documentary Awards (2019)

Ever since the Broadcast Film Critics Association split their documentary awards off from their main awards ceremony, they’ve been able to recognize far more documentaries than previously. This gives us a broad idea of which documentaries are in contention for the Oscars and a lot of selections that aren’t. Titles like They Shall Not Grow Old and Period. End of Sentence. were Oscar-eligible last year, so this year’s selections won’t be too instructive. That said, Apollo 11 and American Factory are the ones to come out of these awards a bit better for the journey.

Award Tallies

(5) Apollo 11
(2) American Factory, They Shall Not Grow Old

The Awards

Best Documentary Feature

Apollo 11

Best Director

Peter Jackson – They Shall Not Grow Old
Steven Bognar, Julie Reichert – American Factory

Best Archival Documentary

Apollo 11

Most Innovative Documentary

They Shall Not Grow Old

Best Sports Documentary


Best Political Documentary

American Factory

Best Biographical Documentary

Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am

Best Science/Nature Documentary

Apollo 11

Best First Documentary Feature


Best Cinematography

The Biggest Little Farm

Best Editing

Apollo 11

Best Short Documentary

Period. End of Sentence.

Best Narration

Bruce Springsteen – Western Stars

Best Music Documentary

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice

Best Score

Apollo 11

Broadcast Film Critics Association Data

Year Founded: 1995
First Awards: 2016 (4)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.