89th Academy Awards (2016): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Pre-Show Details | Governor Awards | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Nominations Announcer (all categories except Best Picture): Randy Thomas (NOTE: First year a video montage was used to present the Oscar nominations.)
Nominations Category Introductions (Actor, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing): Brie Larson
Nominations Category Introductions (Actress): Jason Reitman
Nominations Category Introductions (Animated Feature, Animated Short Film): Jennifer Hudson (redux)
Nominations Category Introductions (did not introduce a specific category): Glenn Close
Nominations Category Introductions (Foreign Language Film, Live Action Short Film): Ken Watanabe
Nominations Category Introductions (introduced more nominations, not specific categories): Gabourey Sidibe
Nominations Category Introductions (Original Score, Original Song): Jennifer Hudson
Nominations Category Introductions (Original Screenplay, Adapted Screenplay): Dustin Lance Black
Nominations Category Introductions (Picture): Cheryl Boone-Isaacs, Demian Bichir
Nominations Category Introductions (Production Design, Visual Effects): Guillermo del Toro
Nominations Category Introductions (Supporting Actor, Cinematography): Terrence Howard
Category Announcement Order:

  • FIRST HALF: Supporting Actor, Cinematography, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Foreign Language Film, Live-Action Short Film, Actor, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, Production Design, Visual Effects, Costume Design, Makeup & Hairstyling, Original Score, Original Song
  • SECOND HALF: Original Screenplay, Adapted Screenplay, Animated Feature, Animated Short Film, Supporting Actress, Film Editing, Actress, Directing, Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Sunday, February 26, 2017, 5:30pm
Location: Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center
Televised On: ABC
Host: Jimmy Kimmel
Length: 3 hours, 49 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 22.40 rating
Viewers: 33.00 million


Supporting Actor: Alicia Vikander
Makeup & Hairstyling: Kate McKinnon, Jason Bateman
Costume Design: Kate McKinnon, Jason Bateman
Documentary Feature: Taraji P. Henson, Janelle Monae, Octavia Spencer, Katherine Johnson
Original Song Introduction: “How Far I’ll Go”: Dwayne Johnson
President’s Remarks: Cheryl Boone Isaacs
Sound Editing: Sofia Boutella, Chris Evans
Sound Mixing: Sofia Boutella, Chris Evans
Governors Awards: Vince Vaughn (NOTE: Recognizing Jackie Chan, Anne V. Coates, Lynn Stalmaster, Frederick Wiseman)
Supporting Actress: Mark Rylance
Inspirations: Shirley MacLaine: Charlize Theron
Foreign Language Film: Charlize Theron, Shirley MacLaine
Original Song Introduction: “The Empty Chair”: Dev Patel
Animated Short Film: Hailee Steinfeld, Gael Garcia Bernal
Animated Feature: Hailee Steinfeld, Gael Garcia Bernal
Production Design: Dakota Johnson, Jamie Dornan
Visual Effects: Felicity Jones, Riz Ahmed
Inspirations: Michael J. Fox: Seth Rogen
Film Editing: Seth Rogen, Michael J. Fox
Documentary Short Subject: Salma Hayek, David Oyelowo
Live Action Short Film: Salma Hayek, David Oyelowo
Scientific & Technical Awards: John Cho, Leslie Mann
Inspirations: Meryl Streep: Javier Bardem
Cinematography: Javier Bardem, Meryl Streep
Original Song Introduction: “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” and “City of Stars”: Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone
Music: Original Score: Samuel L. Jackson
Original Song: Scarlett Johansson
In Memoriam: Jennifer Aniston
Inspirations: Matt Damon: Jimmy Kimmel
Writing: Original Screenplay: Ben Affleck, Matt Damon (Guest)
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Amy Adams
Directing: Halle Berry
Actor: Brie Larson
Actress: Leonardo DiCaprio
Picture: Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Leonardo DiCaprio: Yes
Actress – Brie Larson: Yes
Supporting Actor – Mark Rylance: Yes
Supporting Actress – Alicia Vikander: Yes
Directing – Alejandro G. Inarritu: No

Song Performances

Audition (The Fools Who Dream): John Legend
Can’t Stop the Feeling: Justin Timberlake
City of Stars: John Legend
The Empty Chair: Sting
How Far I’ll Go: Auli’I Cravalho, Lin-Manuel Miranda

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Audition (The Fools Who Dream): No (Performed in the Film by: Emma Stone)
Can’t Stop the Feeling: Partial (Justin Timberlake only) (Performed in the Film by: Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Gwen Stefani, James Corden, Zooey Deschanel, Ron Funches, Caroline Hjelt, Aino Jawo, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Kunal Nayyar)
City of Stars: No (Performed in the Film by: Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone)
The Empty Chair: Partial (Sting only) (Performed in the Film by: J. Ralph, Sting)
How Far I’ll Go: Partial (Auli’I Cravalho only) (Performed in the Film by: Auli’I Cravalho, Alessia Cara)

Other Performances

In Memoriam (Both Sides Now): Sara Bareilles

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Randy Thomas
Conductor / Musical Arranger: Harold Wheeler
Director: Glenn Weiss
Producer: Michael De Luca, Jennifer Todd
Writer: Billy Kimball, Jon Macks
Writer (Special Material): Jimmy Kimmel, Molly McNearney, Danny Ricker, Gary Greenberg, Jack Allison, Tony Barbieri, Jonathan Bines, Gonzalo Cordova, Josh Halloway, Sal Iacono, Eric Immerman, Bess Kalb, Jeff Loveness, Joe Strazzullo
Production Design: Derek McLane
Costume Design: Katja Cahill


Nominations: 7
Wins: 2
Special Class Programs: Nominee
Directing for a Variety Special: Winner
Lighting Design Lighting Direction for a Variety Special: Nominee
Production Design for a Variety Nonfiction Event or Award Special: Nominee
Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special: Nominee
Technical Direction Camerawork Video Control for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Nominee
Creative Achievement in Interactive Media within an Unscripted Program: Winner

Pre-Show Details

Pre-Show Date/Time: Sunday, February 28, 2017, 4:00pm
Pre-Show Presenter: Jess Cagle, Robin Roberts, Michael Strahan, Lara Spencer, Nina Garcia, Krista Smith

Governors Awards

Governors Awards Date: Saturday, November 12, 2016

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Additional Poster

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.