88th Academy Awards (2015): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Pre-Show Details | Governor Awards | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Thursday, January 14, 2016
Nominations Presenters (Group 1): Guillermo del Toro, Ang Lee
Nominations Presenter (Group 2): John Krasinski, Cheryl Boone-Isaacs
Category Announcement Order:

  • GROUP 1: Original Song, Cinematography, Documentary Short Subject, Documentary Feature, Costume Design, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, Makeup & Hairstyling, Live-Action Short Film, Animated Short Film, Animated Feature
  • GROUP 2: Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress, Visual Effects, Film Editing, Production Design, Adapted Screenplay, Original Screenplay, Original Score, Foreign Language Film, Director, Actress, Actor, Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Sunday, February 28, 2016, 5:30pm
Location: Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center
Televised On: ABC
Host: Chris Rock
Length: 3 hours, 37 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 23.40 rating
Viewers: 34.43 million


Writing: Original Screenplay: Emily Blunt, Charlize Theron
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Ryan Gosling, Russell Crowe
Original Song Introduction: “Writing’s on the Wall”: Sarah Silverman
Best Picture Introduction: The Martian, The Big Short: Kerry Washington, Henry Cavill
Supporting Actress: J.K. Simmons
Costume Design: Cate Blanchett
Production Design: Tina Fey, Steve Carell
Makeup & Hairstyling: Margot Robbie, Jared Leto
Best Picture Introduction: The Revanant, Mad Max: Fury Road: Benicio del Toro, Jennifer Garner
Cinematography: Rachel McAdams, Michael B. Jordan
Film Editing: Priyanka Chopra, Live Schrieber
Sound Mixing: Chadwick Boseman, Chris Evans
Sound Editing: Chadwick Boseman, Chris Evans
Visual Effects: Andy Serkis
Scientific & Technical Awards: Olivia Munn, Jason Segel
Introduction: Recognizing John Williams’ 50th Oscar Nomination: C-3PO, R2-D2, BB-8
Animated Short Film: Kevin, Stuart, and Bob (The Minions)
Animated Feature: Sheriff Woody, Buzz Lightyear
Original Song Introduction: “Earned It”: Kevin Hart
Best Picture Introduction: Bridge of Spies, Spotlight: Kate Winslet, Reese Witherspoon
Supporting Actor: Patricia Arquette
Documentary Short Subject: Louis C.K.
Documentary Feature: Daisy Ridley, Dev Patel
Governors Awards: Whoopi Goldberg (NOTE: Recognizing Spike Lee, Gena Rowlands; Debbie Reynolds – Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award)
President’s Remarks: Cheryl Boone Isaacs
In Memoriam: Louis Gossett Jr.
Live Action Short Film: Jacob Tremblay, Abraham Attah
Foreign Language Film: Sofia Vergara, Byung-hun Lee
Original Song Introduction: “Til It Happens to You”: Joe Biden
Music: Original Score: Pharrell Williams, Quincy Jones
Original Song: Common, John Legend
Best Picture Introduction: Room, Brooklyn: Olivia Wilde, Sacha Baron Cohen
Directing: J.J. Abrams
Actress: Eddie Redmayne
Actor: Julianne Moore
Picture: Morgan Freeman
Special Award: Plaque to The Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers: Olivia Munn, Jason Segel (NOTE: Presented at the Sci-Tech Awards)

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Eddie Redmayne: Yes
Actress – Julianne Moore: Yes
Supporting Actor – J.K. Simmons: Yes
Supporting Actress – Patricia Arquette: Yes
Directing – Alejandro G. Inarritu: No

Song Performances

Earned It: The Weeknd
Manta Ray: Not Performed
Simple Song #3: Not Performed
Til It Happens to You: Lady Gaga
Writing’s On the Wall: Sam Smith

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Earned It: Yes (Performed in the Film by: The Weeknd)
Manta Ray: Not Performed (Performed in the Film by: Antony “Anohni” Hegarty)
Simple Song #3: Not Performed (Performed in the Film by: Sumi Jo)
Til It Happens to You: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Lady Gaga)
Writing’s On the Wall: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Sam Smith)

Other Performances

In Memoriam (Blackbird): Dave Grohl

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Ellen K
Conductor / Musical Arranger: Harold Wheeler
Director: Glenn Weiss
Producer: David Hill, Reginald Hudlin
Writer: Billy Kimball, Dave Boone
Writer (Special Material): Chris Rock, Chuck Sklar, Jon Macks, Scott Aukerman, Rodney Barnes, Neil Campbell, Matthew Claybrooks, Lance Crouther, Michael Ferrucci, Langston Kerman, Steve O’Donnell, Nimesh Patel, Vanessa Ramos, Frank Sebastiano, Jeff Stilson, Rich Vos, Michelle Wolf, Dave Chappelle
Production Design: Derek McLane
Costume Design: Daria Hines


Nominations: 5
Wins: 0
Special Class Programs: Nominee
Lighting Design Lighting Direction for a Variety Special: Nominee
Production Design for a Variety Nonfiction Event or Award Special: Nominee
Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special: Nominee
Technical Direction Camerawork Video Control for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Nominee

Pre-Show Details

Pre-Show Date/Time: Sunday, February 26, 2016, 4:00pm
Pre-Show Presenter: Jess Cagle, Amy Robach, Robin Roberts, Lara Spencer, Michael Strahan, Joe Zee

Governors Awards

Governors Awards Date: Saturday, November 14, 2015

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

“We All Dream in Gold” Poster Series

The Academy has chosen for this year’s theme the tagline “We All Dream in Gold.” In doing so, they selected five post-Oscar winner photos to highlight the various dreams being achieved by winning an Oscar. You can click each of the links below to get to a larger resolution version of the posters. If you’re having any trouble figuring out who’s on display below, here’s a guide:

  • (top, left-to-right: 88th Oscars host Chris Rock; Jamie Foxx kissing his Oscar for Best Actor for Ray (2004); and Lupita N’yongo, Best Supporting Actress winner for 12 Years a Slave (2013))
  • (middle, left-to-right: Meryl Streep winning her third Oscar for The Iron Lady (2011) in the Best Actress category; 2014 Oscar winners Common and John Legend who won for their song “Glory” from the film Selma; and (left-to-right) Ben Affleck, George Clooney and Jack Nicholson. Affleck and Clooney hold their Oscars for producing Best Picture Oscar winner Argo (2012). Nicholson had presented the award live along with First Lady Michelle Obama on remote)
  • (bottom, left-to-right: Daniel Day-Lewis, Tilda Swinton, Marion Cotillard and Javier Bardem, all four acting winners for 2007. Day-Lewis won Best Actor for There Will Be Blood, Swinton won Best Supporting Actress for Michael Claytong, Cotillard won Best Actress for La Vie en Rose and Bardem won Best Supporting Actor for No Country for Old Men)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.