80th Academy Awards (2007): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Pre-Show Details | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Tuesday, January 22, 2008
Nominations Presenters: Kathy Bates, Sid Ganis
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Director
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Original Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Adapted Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Foreign Language Film
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Animated Feature
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Sunday, February 24, 2008, 5:30pm
Location: Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland
Televised On: ABC
Host: Jon Stewart
Length: 3 hours, 21 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 18.66 rating
Viewers: 31.76 million


Costume Design: Jennifer Garner
Montage: 80 Years of Unpredictable: George Clooney
Animated Feature: Steve Carell, Anne Hathaway
Makeup & Hairstyling: Katherine Heigl
Original Song Introduction: “Happy Working Song”: Jon Stewart
Visual Effects: Dwayne Johnson
Production Design: Cate Blanchett
Supporting Actor: Jennifer Hudson
Original Song Introduction: “Raise It Up”: Keri Russell
Live Action Short Film: Owen Wilson
Animated Short Film: Jerry Seinfeld from “Bee Movie”
Supporting Actress: Alan Arkin
Scientific & Technical Awards; and Gordon E. Sawyer Award: David A. Grafton: Jessica Alba
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Josh Brolin, James McAvoy
Voting Rules Explanation: Sid Ganis
Original Song Introduction: “That’s How You Know”: Miley Cyrus
Sound Mixing: Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen
Sound Editing: Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen
Actress: Forest Whitaker
Original Song Introduction: “Falling Slowly”: Colin Farrell
Montage: Best Picture: Jack Nicholson
Film Editing: Renee Zellweger
Honorary Award: Robert Boyle: Nicole Kidman
Foreign Language Film: Penelope Cruz
Original Song Introduction: “So Close”: Patrick Dempsey
Original Song: John Travolta
Cinematography: Cameron Diaz
In Memoriam: Hilary Swank
Music: Original Score: Amy Adams
Documentary Short Subject: Tom Hanks, Spc. Charles Highland, Sgt. Andrea Knudsen, Officer 3rd Class Joseph Smith, Lt. Curtis Williamson, Sgt. Kenji Thuloweit
Documentary Feature: Tom Hanks
Writing: Original Screenplay: Harrison Ford
Actor: Helen Mirren
Directing: Martin Scorsese
Picture: Denzel Washington
What Happened To?: Queen Latifah

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Forest Whitaker: Yes
Actress – Helen Mirren: Yes
Supporting Actor – Alan Arkin: Yes
Supporting Actress – Jennifer Hudson: Yes
Directing – Martin Scorsese: Yes

Song Performances

Falling Slowly: Glen Hansard, Marketa Irglova
Happy Working Song: Amy Adams
Raise It Up: Jamia Simone Nash, Impact Repertory Theatre of Harlem
So Close: Jon McLaughlin
That’s How You Know: Kristin Chenoweth, Marlon Saunders

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Falling Slowly: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Glen Hansard, Marketa Irglova)
Happy Working Song: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Amy Adams)
Raise It Up: Partial (Jamia Simone Nash only) (Performed in the Film by: Jamia Simone Nash)
So Close: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Jon McLaughlin)
That’s How You Know: No (Performed in the Film by: Amy Adams)

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Tom Kane, Randy Thomas
Conductor / Musical Arranger: Bill Conti
Director: Louis J. Horvitz
Producer: Gilbert ‘Gil’ Cates
Writer: Hal Kanter, Buz Kohan, Jon Macks, Bruce Vilanch
Writer (Special Material): Jon Stewart, Rory Albanese, Rachel Axler, Kevin Bleyer, Rich Blomquist, Steve Bodow, Tim Carvell, J.R. Havlan, Scott Jacobson, David Javerbaum, Rob Kutner, Josh Lieb, Sam Means, John Oliver, Jason Ross
Production Design: Roy Christopher
Choreography: Aakomon Jones, John O’Connell


Nominations: 9
Wins: 2
Special Class Awards Programs: Nominee
Directing for a Variety Special: Winner
Individual Performance in a Variety or Music Program: Nominee (Jon Stewart, Host)
Music Direction: Nominee
Picture Editing for Short Form Segments and Variety Specials: Nominee (Oscar Show Tribute)
Lighting Design Lighting Direction for a Variety Series: Nominee
Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming: Winner
Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special: Nominee
Technical Direction Camerawork Video Control for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Nominee

Pre-Show Details

Pre-Show Date/Time: Sunday, February 24, 2008, 5:00pm
Pre-Show Presenter: Samantha Harris, Regis Philbin, Shaun Robinson

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.