78th Academy Awards (2005): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Pre-Show Details | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Tuesday, January 31, 2006
Nominations Presenters: Mira Sorvino, Sid Ganis
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Director
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Original Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Adapted Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Foreign Language Film
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Animated Feature
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Sunday, March 5, 2006, 5:30pm
Location: Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland
Televised On: ABC
Host: Jon Stewart
Length: 3 hours, 33 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 22.91 rating
Viewers: 38.64 million


Supporting Actor: Nicole Kidman
Visual Effects: Ben Stiller
Animated Feature: Reese Witherspoon
Original Song Introduction: “Travelin’ Thru”: Naomi Watts
Live Action Short Film: Luke Wilson, Owen Wilson
Animated Short Film: Chicken Little (Zach Braff), Joan Cusack (as Abby Mallard)
Costume Design: Jennifer Aniston
Montage: Biographical Films: Russell Crowe
Makeup & Hairstyling: Steve Carell, Will Ferrell
Scientific & Technical Awards; and Gordon E. Sawyer Award: Gary Demos: Rachel McAdams
Supporting Actress: Morgan Freeman
Montage: Film Noir: Lauren Bacall
Documentary Short Subject: Terrence Howard
Documentary Feature: Charlize Theron
Original Song Introduction: “In the Deep”: Jennifer Lopez
Production Design: Sandra Bullock, Keanu Reeves
Montage: Political Films: Samuel L. Jackson
President’s Welcoming Remarks: Sid Ganis
Introduction: Best Original Score performance: Salma Hayek
Montage: Epic Films: Jake Gyllenhaal
Sound Mixing: Jessica Alba, Eric Bana
Honorary Award: Robert Altman: Meryl Streep, Lily Tomlin
Original Song Introduction: “It’s Hard out Here for a Pimp”: Ludacris
Original Song: Queen Latifah
Sound Editing: Jennifer Garner
In Memoriam: George Clooney
Foreign Language Film: Will Smith
Film Editing: Ziyi Zhang
Actor: Hilary Swank
Cinematography: John Travolta
Actress: Jamie Foxx
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Dustin Hoffman
Writing: Original Screenplay: Uma Thurman
Directing: Tom Hanks
Picture: Jack Nicholson

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Jamie Foxx: Yes
Actress – Hilary Swank: Yes
Supporting Actor – Morgan Freeman: Yes
Supporting Actress – Cate Blanchett: No
Directing – Clint Eastwood: No

Song Performances

In the Deep: Kathleen York
It’s Hard Out Here for a Pimp: Three 6 Mafia, Taraji P. Henson
Travelin’ Thru: Dolly Parton

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

In the Deep: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Kathleen “Bird” York)
It’s Hard Out Here for a Pimp: Partial (Taraji P. Henson only) (Performed in the Film by: Terrence Howard, Taraji P. Henson)
Travelin’ Thru: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Dolly Parton)

Other Performances

Original Score Nominees: Itzhak Perlman

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Tom Kane
Conductor / Musical Arranger: Bill Conti
Director: Louis J. Horvitz
Producer: Gilbert ‘Gil’ Cates
Writer: Josh Bycel, Jonathan Fener, Brendan Hay, Jon Macks, Rodney Rothman, Dan Vebber
Writer (Special Material): Jon Stewart, Rachel Axler, Kevin Bleyer, Rich Blomquist, Steve Bodow, Tim Carvell, J.R. Havlan, Scott Jacobson, David Javerbaum, Ben Karlin, Rob Kutner, Sam Means, Jason Reich, Jason Ross, Stephen Colbert
Production Design: Roy Christopher
Choreography: Daniel Ezralow


Nominations: 9
Wins: 4
Variety Music or Comedy Special: Nominee
Directing for a Variety Special: Winner
Music Direction: Nominee
Film Editing for a Limited Series or Special: Nominee
Lighting Design Lighting Direction for a Variety Series: Nominee
Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming: Winner
Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special: Winner
Technical Direction Camerawork Video Control for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Nominee
Main Title Design: Winner

Pre-Show Details

Pre-Show Date/Time: Sunday, March 5, 2006, 5:00pm
Pre-Show Presenter: Billy Bush, Chris Connelly, Cynthia Garrett, Vanessa Minnillo

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.