77th Academy Awards (2004): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Pre-Show Details | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Tuesday, January 25, 2005
Nominations Presenters: Adrien Brody, Frank Pierson
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Director
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Original Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Adapted Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Foreign Language Film
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Animated Feature
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Sunday, February 27, 2005, 5:30pm
Location: Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland
Televised On: ABC
Host: Chris Rock
Length: 3 hours, 14 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 25.29 rating
Viewers: 42.16 million


Production Design: Halle Berry
Supporting Actor: Renée Zellweger
Animated Feature: Robin Williams
Makeup & Hairstyling: Cate Blanchett
Original Song Introduction: “Look To Your Path Vois Sur Ton Chemin”: Drew Barrymore
Scientific & Technical Awards; and Gordon E. Sawyer Award: Takuo Miyagishima: Scarlett Johansson
Costume Design: Pierce Brosnan, Brad Bird (as Edna Mode)
Supporting Actress: Tim Robbins
Tribute: Johnny Carson: Chris Rock
Documentary Feature: Leonardo DiCaprio
Film Editing: Orlando Bloom, Kirsten Dunst
Original Song Introduction: “Accidentally in Love”: Mike Myers
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Adam Sandler
Visual Effects: Jake Gyllenhaal, Ziyi Zhang
Presenter Introduction: Al Pacino: Frank Pierson
Honorary Award: Sidney Lumet: Al Pacino
Original Song Introduction: “Learn to Be Lonely”: Emmy Rossum
Live Action Short Film: Jeremy Irons
Animated Short Film: Laura Linney
Cinematography: Kate Winslet
Sound Mixing: Penélope Cruz, Salma Hayek
Sound Editing: Penélope Cruz, Salma Hayek
Original Song Introduction: “Al otro lado del río”: Salma Hayek
Documentary Short Subject: Natalie Portman
Music: Original Score: John Travolta
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Roger Mayer: Martin Scorsese
In Memoriam: Annette Bening
Original Song Introduction: “Believe”: Sean Combs
Original Song: Prince
Actress: Sean Penn
Foreign Language Film: Gwyneth Paltrow
Writing: Original Screenplay: Samuel L. Jackson
Actor: Charlize Theron
Directing: Julia Roberts
Picture: Dustin Hoffman, Barbra Streisand

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Sean Penn: Yes
Actress – Charlize Theron: Yes
Supporting Actor – Tim Robbins: Yes
Supporting Actress – Renee Zellweger: Yes
Directing – Peter Jackson: No

Song Performances

Accidentally in Love: Counting Crows
Al Otro Lado del Rio: Antonio Banderas, Carlos Santana
Believe: Josh Groban, Beyoncé Knowles
Learn to Be Lonely: Beyoncé Knowles
Look to Your Path (Vois Sur Ton Chemin): American Boychoir, Beyoncé Knowles

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Accidentally in Love: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Counting Crows)
Al Otro Lado del Rio: No (Performed in the Film by: Jorge Drexler, Leo Sidran)
Believe: Partial (Josh Groban only) (Performed in the Film by: Josh Groban)
Learn to Be Lonely: No (Performed in the Film by: Minnie Driver)
Look to Your Path (Vois Sur Ton Chemin): No (Performed in the Film by: Jean-Baptiste Maunier)

Other Performances

In Memoriam Tribute: Yo-Yo Ma

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Randy Thomas
Conductor / Musical Arranger: Bill Conti
Director: Louis J. Horvitz
Producer: Gilbert ‘Gil’ Cates
Writer: Rita Cash, Hal Kanter, Buz Kohan
Writer (Special Material): Chris Rock, Lance Crouther, Nick DiPaolo, Richard Jeni, Carol Leifer, Ali LeRoi, Jon Macks, Chuck Martin, Bill Scheft, Frank Sebastiano, Chuck Sklar, Jeff Stilson, Richard Vos, Mario Joyner
Production Design: Roy Christopher


Nominations: 7
Wins: 0
Variety Music or Comedy Special: Nominee
Directing for a Variety Special: Nominee
Film Editing for a Limited Series or Special: Nominee
Lighting Design Lighting Direction for a Variety Series: Nominee
Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming: Nominee
Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special: Nominee
Technical Direction Camerawork Video Control for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Nominee

Pre-Show Details

Pre-Show Date/Time: Sunday, February 27, 2005, 5:00pm
Pre-Show Presenter: Billy Bush, Jann Carl, Chris Connelly, Shaun Robinson

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.