74th Academy Awards (2001): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Pre-Show Details | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Tuesday, February 12, 2002
Nominations Presenters: Marcia Gay Harden, Frank Pierson
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Director
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Original Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Adapted Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Foreign Language Film
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Animated Feature
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Sunday, March 24, 2002, 5:30pm
Location: Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland
Televised On: ABC
Host: Whoopi Goldberg
Length: 4 hours, 23 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 25.13 rating
Viewers: 40.54 million


Montage: Errol Morris Movie Memories: Tom Cruise
Supporting Actress: Benicio del Toro
President’s Welcoming Remarks: Frank Pierson
Film Editing: Will Smith
Makeup & Hairstyling: Ryan Phillippe, Reese Witherspoon
Best Picture Introduction: In the Bedoorm: Whoopi Goldberg
Costume Design: Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson
Montage: Nora Ephron New York Tribute: Woody Allen
Cinematography: Jodie Foster
Best Picture Introduction: Gosford Park: Whoopi Goldberg
Montage: Penelope Spheeris Documentary Tribute: Helen Hunt
Documentary Short Subject: Samuel L. Jackson
Documentary Feature: Samuel L. Jackson
Production Design: Cameron Diaz
Scientific & Technical Awards; and Gordon E. Sawyer Award: Edmund M. Di Giulio: Charlize Theron
Animated Feature: Nathan Lane
Sound Mixing: Halle Berry
Sound Editing: Halle Berry
Supporting Actor: Marcia Gay Harden
Best Picture Introduction: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring: Whoopi Goldberg
Introduction: Cirque du Soleil: Ian McKellen, Maggie Smith
Visual Effects: Kirsten Dunst, Tobey Maguire
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Arthur Hiller: Ali MacGraw, Ryan O’Neal
Tribute: John Williams musical scores: Ben Kingsley
Music: Original Score: Sandra Bullock, Hugh Grant
Honorary Award: Sidney Poitier: Walter Mirisch, Denzel Washington
Animated Short Film: Hugh Jackman, Naomi Watts
Live Action Short Film: Hugh Jackman, Naomi Watts
Original Song Introduction: All nominees: Josh Hartnett
Original Song: Jennifer Lopez
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Ethan Hawke, Gwyneth Paltrow
Writing: Original Screenplay: Ethan Hawke, Gwyneth Paltrow
Foreign Language Film: Sharon Stone, John Travolta
In Memoriam: Kevin Spacey
Best Picture Introduction: Moulin Rouge!: Whoopi Goldberg
Honorary Award: Robert Redford: Barbra Streisand
Actress: Russell Crowe
Best Picture Introduction: A Beautiful Mind: Whoopi Goldberg
Actor: Julia Roberts
Directing: Mel Gibson
Picture: Tom Hanks

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Russell Crowe: Yes
Actress – Julia Roberts: Yes
Supporting Actor – Benicio Del Toro: Yes
Supporting Actress – Marcia Gay Harden: Yes
Directing – Steven Soderbergh: No

Song Performances

If I Didn’t Have You: John Goodman, Randy Newman
May It Be: Enya
There You’ll Be: Faith Hill
Until: Sting
Vanilla Sky: Paul McCartney

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

If I Didn’t Have You: Partial (John Goodman only) (Performed in the Film by: Billy Crystal, John Goodman)
May It Be: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Enya)
There You’ll Be: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Faith Hill)
Until: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Sting)
Vanilla Sky: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Paul McCartney)

Other Performances

Tribute: Visual Effects: Cirque du Soleil

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Glenn Close, Donald Sutherland
Conductor / Musical Arranger: John Williams
Director: Louis J. Horvitz
Producer: Laura Ziskin
Writer: Bruce Vilanch, Dave Boone, Whoopi Goldberg, Chris Henchy, Carol Leifer, Jon Macks, Chuck Martin, Rita Rudner, Wanda Sykes, Jonathan Tolins
Writer (Special Material): Alan Bergman, Marilyn Bergman, James Cameron, Cameron Crowe, Ethan Coen, Buck Henry, David Mamet, Carrie Fisher
Production Design: J. Michael Riva
Costume Design: Ann Roth


Nominations: 8
Wins: 1
Variety Music or Comedy Special: Nominee
Directing for a Variety Special: Nominee
Music Direction: Nominee
Multi Camera Picture Editing for a Special Miniseries or a Movie: Nominee
Lighting Design Lighting Direction for a Variety Series: Nominee
Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming: Nominee
Technical Direction Camerawork Video Control for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Nominee
Choreography: Winner

Pre-Show Details

Pre-Show Date/Time: Sunday, March 24, 2002, 5:00pm
Pre-Show Presenter: Chris Connelly, Leeza Gibbons, Ananda Lewis

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.