72nd Academy Awards (1999): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Pre-Show Details | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Tuesday, February 15, 2000
Nominations Presenters: Dustin Hoffman, Robert Rehme
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Director
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Original Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Adapted Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Foreign Language Film
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Sunday, March 26, 2000, 5:30pm
Location: Shrine Auditorium, Los Angeles
Televised On: ABC
Host: Billy Crystal
Length: 4 hours, 9 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 29.64 rating
Viewers: 46.53 million


President’s Welcoming Remarks: Robert Rehme
Costume Design: Drew Barrymore, Cameron Diaz, Lucy Liu
Introduction: Child actors tribute montage: Haley Joel Osment
Sound Mixing: Heather Graham, Mike Myers
Makeup & Hairstyling: Erykah Badu, Tobey Maguire
Best Picture Introduction: The Cider House Rules: Winona Ryder
Supporting Actress: James Coburn
Introduction: 200 Million Year History movie segment: Morgan Freeman
Live Action Short Film: Cate Blanchett, Jude Law
Animated Short Film: Tim Allen (as Buzz Lightyear), Joan Cusack (as Jessie), Tom Hanks (as Woody)
Best Picture Introduction: The Green Mile: Samuel L. Jackson
Original Song Introduction: All nominees: LL Cool J, Vanessa Williams
Original Song: Cher
Documentary Short Subject: Wes Bentley, Thora Birch, Mena Suvari
Documentary Feature: Ethan Hawke, Uma Thurman
Best Picture Introduction: The Sixth Sense: Angela Bassett
Supporting Actor: Judi Dench
Honorary Award: Andrzej Wajda: Jane Fonda
Sound Editing: Chow Yun-Fat
Scientific & Technical Awards; and Gordon E. Sawyer Award: Roderick T. Ryan: Salma Hayek
Visual Effects: Arnold Schwarzeneggar
Best Picture Introduction: American Beauty: Diane Keaton
Foreign Language Film: Antonio Banderas, Penelope Cruz
Music: Original Score: Keanu Reeves, Charlize Theron
In Memoriam: Edward Norton
Production Design: Russell Crowe, Julianne Moore
Film Editing: Tommy Lee Jones, Ashley Judd
Irving G. Thalberg Award: Warren Beatty: Jack Nicholson
Cinematography: Brad Pitt
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Kevin Spacey
Writing: Original Screenplay: Mel Gibson
Best Picture Introduction: The Insider: Anjelica Huston
Actress: Roberto Benigni
Actor: Gwyneth Paltrow
Directing: Steven Spielberg
Picture: Clint Eastwood

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Roberto Benigni: Yes
Actress – Gwyneth Paltrow: Yes
Supporting Actor – James Coburn: Yes
Supporting Actress – Judi Dench: Yes
Directing – Steven Spielberg: Yes

Song Performances

Blame Canada: Robin Williams
Music of My Heart: Gloria Estefan, *NSYNC
Save Me: Aimee Mann
When She Loved Me: Sarah McLachlan, Randy Newman
You’ll Be in My Heart: Phil Collins

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Blame Canada: No (Performed in the Film by: Mary Kay Bergman, Trey Parker)
Music of My Heart: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Gloria Estefan, *NSYNC)
Save Me: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Aimee Mann)
When She Loved Me: Partial (Sarah McLachlan only) (Performed in the Film by: Sarah McLachlan)
You’ll Be in My Heart: Partial (Phil Collins only) (Performed in the Film by: Phil Collins, Glenn Close)

Other Performances

Everybody’s Talkin, Over the Rainbow, Secret Love, The Man That Got Away, I’ve Got You Under My Skin, All the Way, Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head, Theme from Shaft, The Way We Were, When You Wish Upon a Star, Alfie: Garth Brooks, Faith Hill, Ray Charles, Queen Latifah, Isaac Hayes, Burt Bacharach, Dionne Warwick
Opening Number: Best Picture Spoofs – Theme from Green Acres = The Green Mile; People = The Sixth Sense; Chopin’s Minute Waltz = The Insider; Mame = The Cider House Rules; The Lady Is a Tramp = American Beauty: Billy Crystal

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Peter Coyote
Musical Arranger: Burt Bacharach, Rob Shrock, Don Was
Conductor: Pete Anthony
Director: Louis J. Horvitz
Producer: Lili Fini Zanuck, Richard D. Zanuck
Writer: Dave Boone, Rita Cash, Billy Crystal, Ed Driscoll, Carol Leifer, Jon Macks, Billy Martin, Jeffrey Ross, Marc Shaiman, David Steinberg, Jonathan Tolins, Bruce Vilanch
Production Design: Dan Butts, Bob Keene
Costume Design: Craig Ames


Nominations: 9
Wins: 1
Variety Music or Comedy Special: Nominee
Directing for a Variety Special: Winner
Performance in a Variety or Music Program: Nominee (Billy Crystal, host)
Multi Camera Picture Editing for a Special Miniseries or a Movie: Nominee
Lighting Design Lighting Direction for a Variety Series: Nominee
Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming: Nominee
Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special: Nominee
Special Visual Effects for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Nominee
Technical Direction Camerawork Video Control for a Miniseries Movie or a Special: Nominee

Pre-Show Details

Pre-Show Date/Time: Sunday, March 26, 2000, 5:00pm
Pre-Show Presenter: Tyra Banks, Chris Connelly, Meredith Vieira

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.