65th Academy Awards (1992): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Wednesday, February 17, 1993
Nominations Presenters: Mercedes Ruehl, Robert Rehme
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Supporting Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actor
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Actress
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Director
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Original Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Adapted Screenplay
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Foreign Language Film
Nominations Morning Category Presentation: Picture

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Monday, March 29, 1993, 6:00pm
Location: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles
Televised On: ABC
Host: Billy Crystal
Length: 3 hours, 30 minutes
Nielsen Ratings: 32.85 rating
Viewers: 45.84 million


President’s Welcoming Remarks: Robert Rehme
Introduction: “Women in the Movies” montage: Geena Davis
Supporting Actress: Jack Palance
Best Picture Introduction: Unforgiven: Anjelica Huston
Film Editing: Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon
Supporting Actor: Mercedes Ruehl
Makeup & Hairstyling: Joe Pesci, Marisa Tomei
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Audrey Hepburn: Gregory Peck
Live Action Short Film: Sarah Jessica Parker, David Paymer
Animated Short Film: Snow White
Best Picture Introduction: A Few Good Men: Kathy Bates
Presenter Introduction: Glenn Close: Jack Valenti
Foreign Language Film: Glenn Close
Scientific & Technical Awards; and Gordon E. Sawyer Award: Erich Kaestner: Sharon Stone
Production Design: Richard Gere
Best Picture Introduction: Howards End: Whoopi Goldberg
Visual Effects: Andie McDowell
Sound Editing: Jon Lovitz
Documentary Short Subject: Tom Hanks, Denzel Washington
Documentary Feature: Tom Hanks, Denzel Washington
Honorary Award: Federico Fellini: Sophia Loren, Marcello Mastroianni
Music: Original Score: Raul Julia
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Anne Bancroft, Dustin Hoffman
Writing: Original Screenplay: Anne Bancroft, Dustin Hoffman
Best Picture Introduction: The Crying Game: Diane Keaton
Sound Mixing: Robert Downey Jr., Alfre Woodard
Original Song: Lena Horne, Quincy Jones
Actress: Anthony Hopkins
Cinematography: Morgan Freeman, Gene Hackman
Costume Design: Catharine Deneuve
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Elizabeth Taylor: Angela Lansbury
Actor: Jodie Foster
Best Picture Introduction: Scent of a Woman: Jane Fonda
Directing: Barbra Streisand
Picture: Jack Nicholson

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Anthony Hopkins: Yes
Actress – Jodie Foster: Yes
Supporting Actor – Jack Palance: Yes
Supporting Actress – Mercedes Ruehl: Yes
Directing – Jonathan Demme: No

Song Performances

Beautiful Maria of My Soul: Placido Domingo, Sheila E.
Friend Like Me: Nell Carter
I Have Nothing: Natalie Cole
Run to You: Natalie Cole
Whole New World: Brad Kane, Lea Solonga

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Beautiful Maria of My Soul: No (Performed in the Film by: Antonio Banderas, Los Lobos)
Friend Like Me: No (Performed in the Film by: Robin Williams)
I Have Nothing: No (Performed in the Film by: Whitney Houston)
Run to You: No (Performed in the Film by: Whitney Houston)
Whole New World: Partial (Brad Kane & Lea Solonga only) (Performed in the Film by: Brad Kane, Lea Solonga, Regina Belle, Peabo Bryson)

Other Performances

Ladies’ Day (Tribute to women in film): Liza Minnelli
Opening Number: Best Picture Spoofs – I’m a Woman = Scent of a Woman; Hooray for Hollywood = Howards End; Sound Off! = A Few Good Men; (Love Is) The Tender Trap = The Crying Game; Unforgettable = Unforgiven: Billy Crystal

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Randy Thomas
Conductor / Musical Arranger: Bill Conti
Director: Jeff Margolis
Producer: Gilbert ‘Gil’ Cates
Writer: Sheila Benson, Hal Kanter, Buz Kohan
Writer (Special Material): Billy Crystal, Marc Shaiman, David Steinberg, Bruce Vilanch, Robert Wuhl
Production Design: Bob Keene, C. David Pina
Choreography: Debbie Allen


Nominations: 8
Wins: 0
Variety Music or Comedy Special: Nominee
Directing for a Variety Series: Nominee
Performance in a Variety or Music Program: Nominee (Billy Crystal, host)
Music Direction: Nominee
Lighting Direction for a Drama Series Variety Series Miniseries or Special: Nominee
Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming: Nominee
Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special: Nominee
Choreography: Nominee

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.