48th Academy Awards (1975): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Ceremony Emmys | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Tuesday, February 17, 1976

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Monday, March 29, 1976, 7:00pm
Location: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles
Televised On: ABC
Host: Gene Kelly, George Segal, Goldie Hawn, Robert Shaw, Walter Matthau
Length: 3 hours, 12 minutes


Introduction: President of the Academy: Roy Bolger
President’s Welcoming Remarks: Walter Mirisch
Supporting Actress: Joel Grey, Madeline Kahn
Sound Editing: Robert Blake (NOTE: Given to “The Hindenburg” in tandem with Visual Effects)
Visual Effects: Robert Blake (NOTE: Given to “The Hindenburg” in tandem with Sound Effects Editing)
Animated Short Film: Marisa Berenson, O.J. Simpson
Live Action Short Film: Marisa Berenson, O.J. Simpson
Sound Mixing: Margaux Hemingway, Roy Scheider
Documentary Short Subject: Beau Bridges, Marilyn Hassett
Documentary Feature: Beau Bridges, Marilyn Hassett
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Dr. Jules C. Stein: Charlton Heston
Production Design: Anthony Hopkins, Charlotte Rampling
Costume Design: Telly Savalas, Jennifer O’Neill
Supporting Actor: Ben Johnson, Linda Blair
Music: Original Score: Marlo Thomas, Rod McKuen
Music: Original Song Score or Adaptation: Marlo Thomas, Rod McKuen
Cinematography: Billy Dee Williams, Stockard Channing
Film Editing: Elliott Gould, Isabelle Adjani
Foreign Language Film: Jack Valenti, Jacqueline Bisset
Original Song: Angie Dickinson, Burt Bachrach
Irving G. Thalberg Award: Mervyn LeRoy: William Friedkin
Directing: Diane Keaton, William Wyler
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: Gore Vidal
Writing: Original Screenplay: Gore Vidal
Honorary Award: Mary Pickford: Walter Mirisch (on tape)
Actress: Charles Bronson, Jill Ireland
Actor: Art Carney
Picture: Audrey Hepburn
Introduction: “American the Beautiful” performance: Elizabeth Taylor
Scientific & Technical Awards: (NOTE: No record of these awards being given out.)

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Art Carney: Yes and No (Presented: Best Actor)
Actress – Ellen Burstyn: No
Supporting Actor – Robert De Niro: No
Supporting Actress – Ingrid Bergman: No
Directing – Francis Ford Coppola: No

Song Performances

How Lovely Can You Get: Bernadette Peters
I’m Easy: Keith Carradine
Now That We’re in Love: Steve Lawrence
Richard’s Window: Kelly Garrett
Theme from Mahogany: Diana Ross (from Amsterdam)

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

How Lucky Can You Get: No (Performed in the Film by: Barbra Streisand)
I’m Easy: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Keith Carradine)
Now That We’re in Love: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Steve Lawrence)
Richard’s Window: No (Performed in the Film by: Olivia Newton-John)
Theme from Mahogany: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Diana Ross)

Other Performances

American the Beautiful / That’s Entertainment: Spirit of Troy
Hollywood Honors Its Own: Ray Bolger

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Hank Simms
Conductor / Musical Arranger: John Williams
Director: Marty Pasetta
Producer: Howard W. Koch
Writer: Hal Kanter, Buz Kohan (segment “Hollywood Honors Its Own”), William Ludwig, Leonard Spiegelgass
Production Design: Ray Aghayan, Bob Mackie, Ret Turner
Choreography: Walter Painter


Nominations: 2
Wins: 0
Achievement in Coverage of Special Events Individuals: Nominee (Howard W. Koch)
Achievement in Coverage of Special Events Individuals: Nominee (Marty Pasetta)

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.