47th Academy Awards (1974): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Other Performances | Production Staff | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Monday, February 24, 1975

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Tuesday, April 8, 1975, 7:00pm
Location: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles
Televised On: NBC
Host: Bob Hope, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., Shirley MacLaine
Length: 3 hours, 20 minutes


President’s Welcoming Remarks: Walter Mirisch
Voting Rules Explanation: Ryan O’Neal, Tatum O’Neal
Supporting Actor: Ryan O’Neal, Tatum O’Neal
Animated Short Film: Brenda Vaccaro, Roddy McDowall
Live Action Short Film: Brenda Vaccaro, Roddy McDowall
Documentary Short Subject: Danny Thomas, Lauren Hutton
Documentary Feature: Danny Thomas, Lauren Hutton
Honorary Award: Jean Renoir: Ingrid Bergman
Visual Effects: Bob Hope
Original Song: Gene Kelly
Sound Mixing: Deborah Raffin, Joseph Bottoms
Honorary Award: Howard Hawks: John Wayne
Music: Original Drama Score: Diahann Carroll, Johnny Green
Music: Original Song Score or Adaptation: Diahann Carroll, Johnny Green
Costume Design: Lauren Bacall
Supporting Actress: Katharine Ross, Peter Falk
Production Design: Susan Blakely, O.J. Simpson
Cinematography: Jon Voight, Raquel Welch
Film Editing: Jennifer O’Neill, MacDonald Carey
Foreign Language Film: Jack Valenti, Susan George
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Arthur B. Krim: Frank Sinatra
Directing: Goldie Hawn, Robert Wise
Writing: Adapted Screenplay: James Michener
Writing: Original Screenplay: James Michener
Actor: Glenda Jackson
Actress: Jack Lemmon
Picture: Warren Beatty
Scientific & Technical Awards: (NOTE: No record of these awards being given out.)

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Jack Lemmon: Yes
Actress – Glenda Jackson: Yes
Supporting Actor – John Houseman: No
Supporting Actress – Tatum O’Neal: Yes
Directing – George Roy Hill: No

Song Performances

Benji’s Theme (I Feel Love): Aretha Franklin, Frankie Laine, Jack Jones
Blazing Saddles: Frankie Laine
Little Prince: Jack Jones
We May Never Love Like This Again: Aretha Franklin, Frankie Laine, Jack Jones
Wherever Love Takes Me: Aretha Franklin

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Benji’s Theme (I Feel Love): No (Performed in the Film by: Charlie Rich)
Blazing Saddles: Yes (Performed in the Film by: Frankie Laine)
Little Prince: No (Performed in the Film by: Richard Kiley)
We May Never Love Like This Again: No (Performed in the Film by: Maureen McGovern)
Wherever Love Takes Me: No (Performed in the Film by: Maureen McGovern)

Other Performances

That’s Entertainment: Sammy Davis Jr., Bob Hope, Shirley MacLaine, Frank Sinatra, Academy Awards Orchestra

Ceremony Production Staff

Announcer: Hank Simms
Conductor / Musical Arranger: Johnny Green
Director: Marty Pasetta
Producer: Howard W. Koch

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.