23rd Academy Awards (1950): The Ceremony

Nominations Announcement | Ceremony Details | Presenters | Song Performances | Sci-Tech Awards

Nominations Announcement

Nominations Announcement Date: Monday, February 12, 1951

Ceremony Details

Awards Ceremony Date/Time: Thursday, March 29, 1951, 8:00pm
Location: RKO Pantages Theatre, Hollywood
Host: Fred Astaire
Length: 2 hours, 18 minutes


Special Effects: Jane Greer
Film Editing: Debra Paget
Documentary Short Subject: Coleen Gray
Documentary Feature: Coleen Gray
Costume Design: Jan Sterling (NOTE: Both Black-and-White and Color awards presented together)
Scientific & Technical Awards: David Wayne
Production Design: Arlene Dahl, Lex Baxter (NOTE: Both Black-and-White and Color awards presented together)
Animated Short Film: Phyllis Kirk
Live Action Short Film (One-Reel): Phyllis Kirk
Live Action Short Film (Two-Reel): Phyllis Kirk
Sound Mixing: Marilyn Monroe
Cinematography: Debbie Reynolds (NOTE: Both Black-and-White and Color awards presented together)
Foreign Language Film: Marlene Dietrich
Honorary Award: George Murphy, Louis B. Mayer; Irving G. Thalberg Award: Darryl F. Zanuck: Charles Brackett
Music: Drama or Comedy Score: Gene Kelly
Music: Musical Score: Gene Kelly
Original Song: Gene Kelly
Writing: Motion Picture Story: Ruth Chatterton
Writing: Screenplay: Ruth Chatterton
Writing: Story and Screenplay: Ruth Chatterton
Directing: Leo McCarey
Supporting Actor: Mercedes McCambridge
Supporting Actress: Dean Jagger
Actor: Helen Hayes
Actress: Broderick Crawford
Picture: Ralph Bunche

Previous Acting & Directing Winners

The tradition of prior acting winners returning the subsequent year to present the opposite-gender category is a long one. Each year, we look to see whether the prior winners returned. There was an intermittent tradition where the prior directing winner returned as well, but this was a rare occurrence.

Actor – Broderick Crawford: Yes
Actress – Olivia de Havilland: No
Supporting Actor – Dean Jagger: Yes
Supporting Actress – Mercedes McCambridge: Yes
Directing – Joseph L. Mankiewicz: No

Song Performances

Be My Love: Lucille Norman
Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Boo: Dean Martin, Jerry Lewis
Mona Lisa: Robert Merrill
Mule Train: Frankie Laine
Wilhelmina: Alan Young, Gloria DeHaven

Original Song Film Performers

Was the song performed at the Oscars by the same individuals who performed it in the film?

Be My Love: No (Performed in the Film by: Mario Lanza, Kathryn Grayson)
Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Boo: No (Performed in the Film by: Verna Felton)
Mona Lisa: No (Performed in the Film by: Charlie Spivak, Tommy Lynn)
Mule Train: No (Performed in the Film by: Vaughn Monroe)
Wilhelmina: No (Performed in the Film by: Betty Grable)

Scientific & Technical Awards

No Information Available Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.