19th Academy Awards (1946): Nominees and Winners





The Best Years of Our Lives
The Yearling
The Jolson Story
Anna and the King of Siam
It’s a Wonderful Life
Henry V
The Killers
The Razor’s Edge
Brief Encounter


The Best Years of Our Lives
Anna and the King of Siam
The Jolson Story
The Yearling
Blithe Spirit
A Boy and His Dog
The Cat Concerto
Facing Your Danger
The Harvey Girls
Henry V
The Razor’s Edge
Seeds of Destiny
The Seventh Veil
To Each His Own
Vacation from Marriage
Best Picture winner
Best Picture nominee
Nominations are listed for all films receiving 3 or more


The Best Years of Our Lives – Samuel Goldwyn Productions
Henry V – J. Arthur Rank-Two Cities Films
It’s a Wonderful Life – Liberty Films
The Razor’s Edge – 20th Century-Fox
The Yearling – Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer


The Best Years of Our Lives – William Wyler
Brief Encounter – David Lean
It’s a Wonderful Life – Frank Capra
The Killers – Robert Siodmak
The Yearling – Clarence Brown


Fredric March – The Best Years of Our Lives
Laurence Olivier – Henry V
Larry Parks – The Jolson Story
Gregory Peck – The Yearling
James Stewart – It’s a Wonderful Life


Olivia de Havilland – To Each His Own
Celia Johnson – Brief Encounter
Jennifer Jones – Duel in the Sun
Rosalind Russell – Sister Kenny
Jane Wyman – The Yearling


Charles Coburn – The Green Years
William Demarest – The Jolson Story
Claude Rains – Notorious
Harold Russell – The Best Years of Our Lives
Clifton Webb – The Razor’s Edge


Ethel Barrymore – The Spiral Staircase
Anne Baxter – The Razor’s Edge
Lillian Gish – Duel in the Sun
Flora Robson – Saratoga Trunk
Gale Sondergaard – Anna and the King of Siam

WRITING (Original Motion Picture Story)

The Dark Mirror – Vladimir Pozner
The Strange Love of Martha Ivers – Jack Patrick
The Stranger – Victor Trivas
To Each His Own – Charles Brackett
Vacation from Marriage – Clemence Dane

WRITING (Original Screenplay)

The Blue Dahlia – Raymond Chandler
Children of Paradise – Jacques Prevert
Notorious – Ben Hecht
Road to Utopia – Norman Panama, Melvin Frank
The Seventh Veil – Muriel Box, Sydney Box

WRITING (Screenplay)

Anna and the King of Siam – Talbot Jennings, Sally Benson
The Best Years of Our Lives – Robert E. Sherwood
Brief Encounter – David Lean, Anthony Havelock-Allan, Ronald Neame
The Killers – Anthony Veiller
Open City – Sergio Amidei, F. Fellini

MUSIC (Song)

“All Through The Day” – Centennial Summer – Music by Jerome Kern; Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II
“I Can’t Begin To Tell You” – The Dolly Sisters – Music by James Monaco; Lyrics by Mack Gordon
“Ole Buttermilk Sky” – Canyon Passage – Music by Hoagy Carmichael; Lyrics by Jack Brooks
“On The Atchison, Topeka And The Santa Fe” – The Harvey Girls – Music by Harry Warren; Lyrics by Johnny Mercer
“You Keep Coming Back Like A Song” – Blue Skies – Music, Lyrics by Irving Berlin

MUSIC (Music Score of a Dramatic or Comedy Picture)

Anna and the King of Siam – Bernard Herrmann
The Best Years of Our Lives – Hugo Friedhofer
Henry V – William Walton
Humoresque – Franz Waxman
The Killers – Miklos Rozsa

MUSIC (Scoring of a Musical Picture)

Blue Skies – Robert Emmett Dolan
Centennial Summer – Alfred Newman
The Harvey Girls – Lennie Hayton
The Jolson Story – Morris Stoloff
Night and Day – Ray Heindorf, Max Steiner


The Best Years of Our Lives – Daniel Mandell
It’s a Wonderful Life – William Hornbeck
The Jolson Story – William Lyon
The Killers – Arthur Hilton
The Yearling – Harold Kress

CINEMATOGRAPHY (Black-and-White)

Anna and the King of Siam – Arthur Miller
The Green Years – George Folsey


The Jolson Story – Joseph Walker
The Yearling – Charles Rosher, Leonard Smith, Arthur Arling

ART DIRECTION (Black-and-White)

Anna and the King of Siam – Art Direction: Lyle Wheeler, William Darling; Interior Decoration: Thomas Little, Frank E. Hughes
Kitty – Art Direction: Hans Dreier, Walter Tyler; Interior Decoration: Sam Comer, Ray Moyer
The Razor’s Edge – Art Direction: Richard Day, Nathan Juran; Interior Decoration: Thomas Little, Paul S. Fox


Caesar and Cleopatra – John Bryan
Henry V – Art Direction: Paul Sheriff, Carmen Dillon
The Yearling – Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Paul Groesse; Interior Decoration: Edwin B. Willis


The Best Years of Our Lives – Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Department, Gordon Sawyer, Sound Director
It’s a Wonderful Life – RKO Radio Studio Sound Department, John Aalberg, Sound Director
The Jolson Story – Columbia Studio Sound Department, John Livadary, Sound Director


Blithe Spirit – Special Visual Effects by Thomas Howard
A Stolen Life – Special Visual Effects by William McGann; Special Audible Effects by Nathan Levinson

DOCUMENTARY (Short Subject)

Atomic Power – The March of Time
Life at the Zoo – Artkino
Paramount News Issue #37 (Twentieth Anniversary Issue! 1927…..1947) – Paramount
Seeds of Destiny – United States Department of War
Traffic with the Devil – Herbert Morgan


The Cat Concerto – Frederick Quimby
Chopin’s Musical Moments – Walter Lantz
John Henry and the Inky Poo – George Pal
Squatter’s Rights – Walt Disney
Walky Talky Hawky – Edward Selzer


Dive-Hi Champs – Jack Eaton
Facing Your Danger – Gordon Hollingshead
Golden Horses – Edmund Reek
Smart as a Fox – Gordon Hollingshead
Sure Cures – Pete Smith


A Boy and His Dog – Gordon Hollingshead
College Queen – George B. Templeton
Hiss and Yell – Jules White
The Luckiest Guy in the World – Jerry Bresler


To Laurence Olivier for his outstanding achievement as actor, producer and director in bringing Henry V to the screen.
To Harold Russell for bringing hope and courage to his fellow veterans through his appearance in The Best Years of Our Lives.
To Ernst Lubitsch for his distinguished contributions to the art of the motion picture.
To Claude Jarman, Jr., outstanding child actor of 1946.


Samuel Goldwyn


To HARLAN L. BAUMBACH and the PARAMOUNT WEST COAST LABORATORY for an improved method for the quantitative determination of hydroquinone and metol in photographic developing baths. [Laboratory]
To HERBERT E. BRITT for the development and application of formulas and equipment for producing cloud and smoke effects. [Stage Operations]
To BURTON F. MILLER and the WARNER BROS. STUDIO SOUND and ELECTRICAL DEPARTMENTS for the design and construction of a motion picture arc lighting generator filter. [Lighting]
To CARL FAULKNER of the 20th Century-Fox Studio Sound Department for the reversed bias method, including a double bias method for light valve and galvonometer density recording. [Sound]
To the MOLE-RICHARDSON COMPANY for the Type 450 super high intensity carbon arc lamp. [Lighting]
To ARTHUR F. BLINN, ROBERT O. COOK, C. O. SLYFIELD and the WALT DISNEY STUDIO SOUND DEPARTMENT for the design and development of an audio finder and track viewer for checking and locating noise in sound tracks. [Sound]
To BURTON F. MILLER and the WARNER BROS. STUDIO SOUND DEPARTMENT for the design and application of an equalizer to eliminate relative spectral energy distortion in electronic compressors. [Sound]
To MARTY MARTIN and HAL ADKINS of the RKO Radio Studio Miniature Department for the design and construction of equipment providing visual bullet effects. [Stage Operations]
To HAROLD NYE and the WARNER BROS. STUDIO ELECTRICAL DEPARTMENT for the development of the electronically controlled fire and gaslight effect. [Stage Operations]

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.